THIS IS A FANTASTIC SMOOTHIE FOR BREAST FEEDING MAMAS. I DON’T KNOW ABOUT YOU, BUT BREAST FEEDING HAS MADE MY PREGNANT APPETITE SEEM DEMURE. I HAVE BECOME A RATHER CARNIVOROUS, RAVENOUS EATER. WHENEVER MY HUSBAND POKES FUN AT ME I ALWAYS REPLY, “BACK OFF, I’M EATING FOR TWO.” I KNOW THEY SAY THAT YOU ONLY NEED 500 MORE CALORIES A DAY, BUT IT FEELS LIKE I CONSUME MORE THEN THAT. I ALWAYS FEEL THE DIFFERENCE ON THOSE DAYS WHERE I FALTER IN EATING A LOT OF FAT AND PROTEIN. I END UP FEELING WAY MORE SLUGGLISH. FOR A MAMA WHO STILL GETS ALMOST NO SLEEP EACH NIGHT, MY DIET MAKES OR BREAKS MY IMMUNITY AND ENERGY LEVELS EACH DAY. IF YOU FIND YOURSELF LACKING TIME TO PROPERLY NOURISH, THIS SMOOTHIE REALLY HELPS TO MEET THE QUOTA OF DAILY NOURISHMENT. BOTTOMS UP!

Nourishing Our Children

Katie

My Breastfeeding Smoothie written by Katie Louderback

We know how essential it is to nourish ourselves while breastfeeding. However the reality of mothering sometimes gets in the way of our best intentions.  We are often pulled away from meeting our own needs in order to respond to the needs of our babies and/or children.  As the mother of two small children, I know this well.

I found myself able to make a nourishing breakfast but then I struggled to eat much of anything between breakfast and dinner.  I felt the resulting swings in my blood sugar and I wanted to nourish myself and my baby more completely.  I came up with this simple smoothie to give myself some nutritional insurance on really hectic days.

While the foods in the smoothie are simple, they are packed with nutrition to support a nursing mother.  The coconut oil, yogurt and eggs are all healthy…

View original post 503 more words

